National Honor Society welcomes new inductees


Tyra Hill

Current members James Barbret and Joe Zerilli with new inductees Michonni Ward, Fatumata Diop, and Emma Lekki

Tyra Hill and Caitlin Michael

Yesterday, Thursday March 28, the National Honor Society announced their new members for the 2019-2020 school year.  They started off by having current senior members clad in red robes go around to each classroom. Band members played the trumpet while others read a list of names for the new inductees.

“It felt rewarding to be able to induct all the newbies. It felt like it was just yesterday I was sitting in class and my name was called, I’m forever grateful to have been apart of NHS,” senior and vice president of NHS Joe Zerilli said.

After everyone gathered in the makerspace, sponsors Samantha Jordan and John Czech congratulated the new inductees and presented them with their choice of pop and a slice of cake. Jordan and Czech had inductees open envelopes they received when they were pulled from class. Inside contained a schedule for the rest of the year and the the requirements for all new members. Some requirements include a 3.5 grade point average and eight hours of community service for this trimester.

“It feels amazing to be picked for NHS. I was scared when they walked in but I was so proud of myself and I’m glad I made it in,” sophomore inductee Jewel Jurek-Stamm said.

The induction ceremony will be held Wednesday, April 24, to officially induct the new members on their journey to making a difference in the community.